Cap'n L
    Firehouse.com Guest

Question After the midnight call

After returning home and getting back in bed after the late night run I have a terrible time going back to sleep. And like most of you I have to get up a go to my "full time" factory job at 5am. My question is have you found a way to unwind after a call so that a 30 min. call doesn't cause 1-2hrs of lost sleep?

craig7404
    Firehouse.com Guest

Well I've been doing it for twenty two years now and I have not found away to unwind yet but one thing that does help is our fire dept. always has a talk session after every run to help get things off our minds. We discuss what went right and wrong and just let the stress out before we go home. Can't promise it will help but it does for us. Good luck and be Safe.

dc45b
    Firehouse.com Guest

Thumbs up

I have been doing this for 30 years and this is a hard item to tackle. I have found that I must tell myself to relax. No more thoughts of the call and not think of anything but just think of sleeping. It is hard to do. You might consider going to a counselor about the problem. They might suggest a relaxation tape to help you. Good luck

------------------

agff
    Firehouse.com Guest

I hope you won't think dc45b method too wild. I concentrate on one monotonous phrase and will wake up in the morning. I also try to wind down and relax on the drive home and mentally preparing for sleep. Most of the time it works. Good Luck

MTForestFires
    Firehouse.com Guest

Smile

Don't know if this will help, but I don't try to fight it. If I'm not dead tired when I get home, I'll shower, read, or turn on the tube for a little while. Usually I'll be tired within a half hour and can get at least a few hours sleep.

ChapCapt
    Firehouse.com Guest