Jay D. Scott
    Firehouse.com Guest

Post Small Vol. Depts. - Do you have an equipment truck?

At the Holmes Twp. V.F.D. near Bucyrus, Ohio we have an equipment truck - on old step van customized by department members. We're planning to replace it in early Y2K. Tell me what kind of truck you have - step van? Box truck? Roll-up doors? Equipped with AC and heat?

------------------

craig7404
    Firehouse.com Guest

We have a older type 2 ambulance van that we use as equipment/rescue truck. We carry all extracation tools and forceible entry tools on our mini attack pumper. We also carry medical equipment and supplies on both trucks.Being a older firefighter I like having a pump and water with me on every run just in case. But the van does have more storage area so on most runs both rescue 2 and truck 5 roll.
    Be safe
    Caption Craig Lambert

Skidz
    Firehouse.com Guest

HELLO,

WELL WE HAVE A STEP VAN AS WELL BUT, IT SOON TO BEREPLACED BY A RESCUE PUMPER. I KNOW THAT IS NOT THE ANSWER FOR EVERYONE'S PROBLEMS BUT, IF YOUR PEOPLE LIKE THE STEP VAN I WOULD STAY WITH IT. OUR STEP VAN IS A WALK THROUGH IT CARRIES SIX PEOPLE AND IT HOLDS THE FOLLOWING ITEMS (GENERAL) TWO GENERATORS -ONE LIGHTS -ONE FOR POWERING THE STEP VAN ON LARGE INCIDENTS A/C, HEATING, BATTERY CHARGERS, BASE RADIOS, ETC. A PPV, MULTIPLE HAND TOOLS, SPARE SCBA BOTTLES, ALL SALVAGE EQUIPMENT, EMS EQUIPMENT, 4 BOTTLE CASCADE, LIGHTS, CORDS REELS, AND OUR CUTTERS AND SPREADERS, ITS A GREAT PIECE BUT A LITTLE OVERWIEGHT. THATS WHY ITS GETTING REPLACED. THERE ARE ALL HUNDREDS OF OPTIONS YOU JUST NEED TO TAKE YOUR TIME AND THINK EVERY LITTLE DETAIL OUT SO WHEN IT TIME YOU HAVE THE SQUAD THAT IS USER FRIENDLY AND YOU WILL HAVE FOR TEH NEXT TEN YEARS. IF YOU BUDGET RIGHT YOU SHOULD GET A NEW PIECE EVERY TEN YEARS.

SKIDZZZ

west30capt
    Firehouse.com Guest