Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    ChiefDog
    Firehouse.com Guest

Question Billing Non-taxpayers for Response?

Greetings:
    I am the Chief of a Paid on-call department in Northern Vermont. We are going through our yearly budget battle and the "Town Fathers" are wanting us look into billing for accidents and vehicle fires. I have been asked/told to find out if this is possible and what policies other departments have. One of the concerns has been that the Taxpayers have already paid for the department to respond. However, the guy from the neighboring State or Country has not contributed anything towards paying for our response to their "bad day".

It comes down to money and who is going to pay. Our town is served by an independant ambulance service that bills for response. This is where the Town got the idea. Any constructive advise or information will be appreciated.

Lieutenant Gonzo
    Firehouse.com Guest

Cool

Although I am a career firefighter, I view the volunteer forums to see what's happening, because we all share the same things (both good and bad).
    From what I gather from reading your post, the Town fathers want you to bill the neighboring communities/state/country for services that you render on mutual aid. Do they include billing the residents of your community for emergency services? Are the Town Fathers prepared to receive a bill from your neighboring public safety departments when they respond to your communities "bad days"? Will the funds collected be allocated back to your Department for personnel and equipment or will they go into the town's general funds?