lbfdfirefighter
    Firehouse.com Guest

Talking Being at College and not on call

Hi, I am currently a freshman at Purdue University and a volunteer fire fighter with the Lake Bluff Fire Department in Illinois. Just wanted to know if any other volunteers out there are at college and are not able to be on call do to the fact that they aren't home and really miss it. I run to the window every time a rig goes by and it drives me crazy. Am I the only one who does that or am I not alone?

------------------
    Safety first, then the hero stuff, or is it the other way?

rescue3
    Firehouse.com Guest

hi! believe me, you aren't alone. there are three firefighters in our department that are at college and i know they miss it - not just the calls and the drills, but the firefighters too. i will be away at college this fall and i am already wondering how i'm going to survive! i know several colleges have student volunteers on their departments, does purdue?

------------------
    rescue3
    "You go...we go"

lbfdfirefighter
    Firehouse.com Guest

Talking

Rescue 3 thanks for replying. I miss my friends back home a lot, and the bomd that has formed. Even though I am in a franernity, it doesn't compare at all. And no, Purdue doesn't have a volunteer fd, i checked my second day down here. And matter of fact, they don't even have fire fighting classes. The Chief is trying though and maybe next semester?

rescue3
    Firehouse.com Guest

Cool

no problem...hang in there and learn as much as you can while you're away.

------------------
    rescue3
    "You go...we go"

dimab
    Firehouse.com Guest

Let me tell you, you are not alone. I'm away at school my first year too. I miss every time I see a car with lights roll by (esp. a fire truck). But it's awesome when I get chances to come home and be on call. It's one of the best things that I look forward to when I come home.

N2DFire
    Firehouse.com Guest

Thumbs up