E21
    Firehouse.com Guest

Post volunteering together

Both me and my girlfriend volunteer. She is an emt and im a FF. We get along great except for the views of one thing. She feels its no place for the fire dept to respond to medical emergancies except for a lift. Me well I feel that FF can a least start CPR on a cardiac victim or begin oxygen to a victim ect. at least untill the emt's get there. Then she says face it you wouldnt want the emt's fighting house fires before the fire dept gets there. I dont even try to argue anymore, I just say its dept policies. Just want some views on this.

martinj
    Firehouse.com Guest

I have to agree with you on this one. I am a volunteer firefighter and I am finishing an EMT course right now. I would prefer to see firefighters on the scene of medical emergencies providing basic life support until the ALS arrives. This gives the patient a fighting chance for survival in some instances. Just my opinion.

Adze
    Firehouse.com Guest

In my town, the ambulance bay is located on far side of town. My town is divided into 5 villages and there is no "Center of Town" (each village has a center), so it is not possible for the ambulance to be centrally located. It can take the ambulance 10 minutes or so to get to areas covered by my FD. Right now, the only time we are automatic medical aid is if the ambulance is out of town. We are in the process of getting a defib unit. Once we get all set with that, we will be rolling to any medical call on our side of town.

I feel that the only time the FD shouldn't go is if they don't have anyone trained.

However, my FD has a bunch of EMTs, including all of our LT's. One of our LT's is in the process of getting his Paramedic cert. We also have a bunch of MRT's. Many our EMTs are also paid medics on ambulance. Two of our guys work for AMR in Hartford and see alot of f*ed up stuff. There is no reason that these people shouldn't be responding to medical emergencies.