mark440
    Firehouse.com Guest

Cool

August 2. Worker in a single family dwelling. How about yours? This is the 4th in the past two weeks. It has been really slow, a good break!!!

Mark

------------------
    If in doubt - Call us out

Drewbo
    Firehouse.com Guest

(Sorry if this is long) Just ran across this topic. I have to admit, right now I am half way across the country, serving in the Army. But my last fire will be one that stays with me forever.
    I was volunteering in Bloomsburg PA, where I went to college. It was a Sunday, March 19th, 6am and we got paged out for a structure fire, the TKE (a fraturnity) house. As I turned out of my parking lot on Upper campus of the university I saw the smoke comming up from the area the house was at. Over the scanner it was reported that people were jumping from the second story window and the structure was fully involved. Being a college student I knew they had a party the night before. Right then and their I knew this would be the longest day of my life. ON my way to station 20 I pass the street that TKE is on, from 4 blocks away I could see flames in the middle of the street. The house was rocking. Needless to say the aparatus were not put in service till 6pm. Three TKE brothers died in the blaze. We saved the row homes neighboring the TKE house, with severe damage to the first one. It was a sad day and weeks following for the comunity. I personally saw all three sides of the incident, as a fireman, as a college student and the effects on the community as countless people showed up on the scene to pray and console eachother. Must say that the community and the college really came together at a candle light service the following evening. Sorry to ramble on, I really could have written much more, but the way the communitty joined over this tragedy touched me.

Thanks and be safe.

------------------
    * God Looked down and
    * saw this was bad, it
    * was bad, it was Drew

Engine58
    Firehouse.com Guest