Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
Page 18 of 18 FirstFirst ... 815161718
Like Tree5Likes

Thread: Emergency Lights for Vol FF/EMTs

Forum Member

I agree with your statement, it is legally NOT our right to take the right of way. We can honk all we want through an intersection in a rig, stutter or air horn, go "whoop", yelp, shout, pulse the fire engine pedal siren, and flash head lights, use the P.A., or have red, green, or blue lights, or those rig colors. When speaking with my Career Center teacher, here in Columbia MO, where I attend a local Fire Department Explorer Prorgram, he stated, as a retired firefighter from Rolla MO, if in any accident, it is our fault. Well, I suppose more appropriatly, since I am only a student, the department's fault. Unless the wrecked vehicle the rig hit, or any other fire vehicle, broke a traffic law. Which is rare to win considering how large of a corporation the F.D. can be. Yet you would think, something that attention grabbing, is never considered on the road; I have seen near misses twice now when out on the town.

Quote Originally Posted by FWDbuff View Post
    ...and a chainsaw, with spare chains, bar oil, and mixed gas....
    You just described half the pick-ups in northern New York... And I'm not talking about firefighters...
    Rice09 likes this.
    Opinions my own. Standard disclaimers apply.

Everyone goes home. Safety begins with you.

Forum Member