mark440
    Firehouse.com Guest

Angry Overbearing out of control Asst Chief

Opinions please !!!
    On the VFD I am a member of we have an Asst. Chief who by trade is a High School councilor. He has been in the FD for 5 years now, prior to then he had no FD/Ems experiance. When the Chief is around someone is there to pull on the reins to keep him under control. Our chief left this past Sunday to go to the NFA for 2 weeks. Which by default puts "Frank" in charge. This man is constantly a "Power Struggle Freak". He has the hardest time making a decision. If you ask him for a decision he automatically starts twitching his shoulder. But the incidents in question, one of the local Burger Kings caught fire the other night in the next city to the south, approx 7 miles. It had been burning for about 1 hour when they called for MA. I was on medical call that night (we are a combined Fire/Ems dept). The page came out about 02:00. I responded down to the station and the engine had only 4 people sitting on it waiting for the 5th. There was about 4-5 people standing outside the station and saying "I have to work in the morning, but I can cover Marks' medical calls if he wants to go". I was very eager to go. But Frank says "No, you are on medicals and they stay in town". This I can accept, knowing that I was on medical calls that night and would most likely not go because of this. But what makes me stop and question is that Asst. Chief Frank antagonizes it. "Ha Ha, you are on medical calls and you cannot go to the fire". I think that the position he is in he ought to be supportive and NOT making the antagonizing comments. That is all fine and dandy now, but tonight we are drilling, and this car pulls up and this women jumps out and asks for medical help, everyone just stands there. So I immediatley go over to the vehicle and find a male having chest pains. We call for ALS Medics and ambulance. Frank comes over and starts ordering "If you are not on medical calls get your *** ou