Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Problem

Trukkie_24
    Firehouse.com Guest

Post Problem

I have a slight problem. I am a certified Firefighter I at the state level. I am an agressive young firefighter. I have held multiple positions as a cadet, including positions previously held by firefighters. After I turned 18 I left a vollie department and tried to re-apply to my first department which told me they did not want me as a member, because members of that department didn't like me. *The last time they had seen me, I was 16 years old.* This department advertises frequently for vollies and complains daily about lack of manpower. I am currently trying to get back into my second department as a firefighter, but feel a little disheartened about it all. Any ideas?

MetalMedic
    Firehouse.com Guest

Question

I would be interested in knowing a little more of the background here. What was it you did back when you were 16 that makes them not like you? Once we can identify that, then maybe we can work on a way to "mend fences" and help them have some faith in you.

------------------
    Richard Nester
    Orrville (OH) Fire Dept.

Captain Gonzo
    Firehouse.com Guest

Exclamation

This is a prime example of not "burning your bridges" on your way up in the fire service...you may have to cross them on the way back!

------------------
    And on the eighth day...God created Firefighters!
    Captain Gonzo

Adze
    Firehouse.com Guest