Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    Forum Member

Default Summer time training

After what happened to Korey Stringer of the Minn. Vikings I wondered. What about us as Fireifghters. Do you train in extremly hot weather and if so what are ways you combat heat-related illnesses.
    Proud to be IACOJ Illinois Chapter--Deemed "Crustworthy" Jan, 2003

MembersZone Subscriber

I am a training officer for my station (20 people) and its my opinion that you owe it to the citizens to train hard all year. I do take some precautions however, we take lots of short breaks, anyone can sit out or get a drink with out getting jumped on and we also have a water misting fan. The fans are great, I can't recomend them enough, the same style that you see used in the NFL.
    I don't want my people spoiled so we also wear full gear. Some local depts. let people wear helmet, gloves and boots but thats not what they use to fight fires. Don't kill your people but you still should train like you work.

Scott Henry

MembersZone Subscriber