Default Looking for input on KME pumpers...

Greetings Everyone...
    I'm a Fire Department Mechanic for a small municipality in NY and we are currently looking to purchase a new pumper for our fleet..Right now the department is talking about a KME pumper, but unfortunately I have no experience with this company or it's products..So I'm looking for any opinions (yes,I know, everybody has one)or any kind of information from departments that run a KME truck..Your help would be greatly appreciated...Thanks..

Default KME

In my department we have 3 KME's (1992 rescue/pumper, 1997 pumper/tanker, 2000 Quint). Overall we are pretty happy with them. First all I will start out by saying that I'm a Pierce man. I think Pierce builds a very good truck and the finish work is outstanding. I help spec. out the Quint and the rebuild of the tanker/pumper that was involved in a accident. We are in the process of specing out a straight rescue to replace the R/P. We will probaly go with KME because we are big in having a standardized fleet were very thing runs and operates the same. And I think that if your department can do this it is the way to go especially if your all volunteer. There is no difference between trucks form one to the other. The big thing that sold us on KME was the salesman and that the factory is only a two hour drive so we would go up weekly to check on the progress of the truck to catch any problems that come up. I can say that KME has come a long way from our 1992 to our 2000. Plus they are very custom when it comes to doing different things. Not to take anything away form E-one and Pierce which we had one of both at one time but having the factory so close makes it nice.