Default Help us find a nickname

I am a teacher from a school in Michigan. For a variety of reasons we changing our nickname from the Redskins. As part of the committee to select a new name I have proposed the Firefighters. It is my belief that this profession represents dignity, honor & Courage. I believe it to be a strong symbol to build pride for our community and student body.

Obviously the selection process will be a thourough one. So I am looking for some assistance in putting together formal titles and nicknames associated with the firefighting profession. This will enable me to present varioius options to the final committee that all embody the spirit of the people.

So If you have any tiles, terms, slang or nicknames please post them or email them to me. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Forum Member

Arrow What is Your School's Name?

It would make things easier to know. For example (not the best example either), if you were from Hudson, the Hudson Hose Haulers sounds O.K.

Default Milford High School

Thanks for your help.

Want to name your team after firefighters. How about "THE SMOKEATERS" after the Trail Smokeaters, firefighters and World Hockey Champions. I think the year was 1961.

Forum Member

Lightbulb The Milford Roughnecks!

Getting a bright idea about this was harder than I thought it would be! I really like chuxter's idea of the Smoke Eaters.

A couple that I pondered over were: The Blazebeaters and The Volunteers (if Milford has a volunteer department). Around Cincinnati, firefighters are refered to as Roughnecks which I think has a nice ring to it. I'll keep scrathcin' my head and see if anything else jumps at me....
    Last edited by Box2565; 02-06-2002 at 10:33 AM.

Those are a great start, I like the roughnecks. I would need to be able to document the terms association to firefighting to appease the administration.

those are helpful, Keep them coming.

Forum Member