Thread: Palm Pilots

Default Palm Pilots

As someone who is running a new site and keeping track of other fire service activities, I wondered how impressed you were with the Palm Pilots as an organizational tool? Any comments appreciated.

RJE

I'd be lost w/o mine - I call it my brain

Then again, I haven't had turnouts on in 10 years, and I'm a professional developer that occasionally has to write something for one.

IACOJ Agitator

While I was single, my Palm was my "Black Book".

However, I rely on the thing constantly. I use it to jot down memos or directions, list of things I have to get done, addresses, and I use the calendar to keep track of appointments and my hours (I'm a consultant...don't follow normal hours).

Once I even used it to write down PT info at the scene of an MVA.

As far as keeping track of fire service activities, you can download a web browser called Avantgo and have it download daily (or more often) fire service news from multiple web sites, then you can read them while you are away from the computer.

I have been using a palmpilot for over 5 years and absolutly love it. If fact I am currently using the Kyocera PalmPhone (integrated phone and Palm). This eliminated carrying two seperate devices. My next step will be to get rid of my text pager by getting Short Message Service (SMS) working, this will allow me to send and recieve text messages. Not to mention the current ability of the device to send/recieve email and have internet access. As far as sofware goes I am seeing more and more being created for the Fire and EMS service which will only add further value to these device's.