Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Default Tricks of the Trade

Being a relatively new firefighter, I love to collect the little bits of knowledge and tips that alot of older and wiser firefighters. I love getting the tricks like the golf balls and the bent nails. Please share your trick of the trade with me and all of the other rookies and probies.

steve

I'll give you some advice I got from an old, now retired Captain. Know the Basics. Being open to learnind ways to do something new and better is good, but knowing and being able to do all the basics in your sleep will take you much farther than a golf ball or some other "trick" will. There are no shortcuts on the fireground, fire has been put out the same way for hundereds of years and that by good solid tactics. And that all rests on basics. Now there are basic info and tips to learn, but these must fit into sound tactics. Personally i think golf balls is sily and not good basic tacicts. Be able to do everything in Essentials in your sleep and read some good procedures from a big city like FDNY or Chicago and youll be a sound firefighter.
    Last edited by dfd3dfd3; 03-07-2002 at 08:33 PM.

dfd3,
    i agree whole heartedly with your advice, but i think your missing the purpose of the post. it is relatively easy to sit down and read the essentials, there are classes, and study guides to help you. yes knowledge and tactics are THE most important tool a firefighter can have. the purpose of this thread is just to little tidbits that aren't the most necessary things, but stuff that may make your job a liitle easier. when i see an older firefighter carrying something or doing something unusual, i like to know why. who knows, it maybe something i should be doing. thats all not all that serious of a thread. but i do agree and heed your advice. thanks for responding. by the way, where can i read FDNY, Chicago, etc. procedures?

steve

Hopefully this is the sort of thing you're looking for.