Default Tradition, and the next big thing

I have been a firefighter for 7 years, 3 as a junior and 4 as a regular FF. During that time many things have changed, and many have stayed the same, some good, some bad, some pointless, some very relevant.

I have always thought that a strong base in the basics, engine work truck work etc. is the most important thing a firefighter should focus on. However, there are many new tasks that we have taken on in the years; EMS, prevention, so on, and there have been many great advancements in technology and tactics; thermal imagers, positive presure attack.

Now, my questions are:

what do you think will be the next big thing to help the fire service?

What do you think should change?

and what do you think should stay the same?

Lets keep it cival, we all have opinions. Thanks.

Hard to say. Improvements in accountability systems, lawsuits leading to stonger code enforcement, improvements in protective clothing...

Leadership.

And people in the fire service just because they need a job. I'd rather have someone there that wants to be there than someone that just wants to draw a paycheck.

The sense of duty and the brother/sisterhood we share.
    It's only my opinion. I do not speak for any group or organization I belong to or associate with or people I know - especially my employer. If you like it, we can share it, you don't have to give me credit. If you don't, we are allowed to disagree too (but be ready to be challenged, you may be on to something I'm not). That's what makes America great!

I toss my $.02 in mongo's camp...

Leadership.

And people in the fire service just because they need a
    job. I'd rather have someone there that wants to be there
    than someone that just wants to draw a paycheck.

The sense of duty and the brother/sisterhood we share.
    Well said.

(another topic I agree with mongo on... and I've even
    thought of Texas as a possible vacation destination...I'm
    starting to scare myself now! )