Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Question starting a weight/fitness room

I am a firefighter/emt on a small two house full/part-time department that dose not have a weight/fitness program what so ever. We have approched our chief as well as our fire board, their answer was a liabilty issue, and basicly said no. My question to you is if your department has a weight/fitness room and an estimated price. Any other sugestions will be very helpful. Thank you

Default Hmmmmm.....

Posted by Traumacode 23...

I am a firefighter/emt on a small two house full/part-time department that dose not have a weight/fitness program what so ever. We have approched our chief as well as our fire board, their answer was a liabilty issue, and basicly said no.

Having a weight/fitness room is a liability issue? So is having overweight, out of shape firefighters who could get injured in killed in the line of duty! The payout for fitness equipment is far less than the payout of overtime coverage for someone who is out IOD or the payout for a LODD!

Physical fitness is an essential in this business. I see a couple of alternatives here. One is to ask the Chief and fire board if they will pay for a membership to a fitness club...it would be done off property and off duty...no liability for the Department. Of course, I think this is scatology...you should be able to work out on duty...you can respond from there!