Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Question Need help: Promotional test question!

Hey comrades, I need some help with a question I'll be getting for our Lt. test from the oral interview. Can you give me some answers that are a bit different from the usual but still good (I need the points) to the question, "Why do you want to be a Lieutenant?". I'll be dealing with the Police & Fire Commission so they're not real up to speed with the workings of the job but they're not completely ignorant either. The test is a tight race and I'm looking to answer it well but to be a little different from the other guys so I can stand out a bit. History: I'm a 13 year veteran, city has 3 houses, 69 members, pretty good run totals, and I've got good history and commendation backround but the place is VERY political and I'm not IN with most of them. Thanks in advance,

Brian Kulaga, Cicero FD.

Cool

Brian,
    Since your Police & Fire Commission is assessing the interview.They probably have a background in management.The Fire Officer IFSTA manual addresses many management styles and leadership ideas.If you have one,I would take a close look at it.I just finished the officers course here and took our state written.It focused much on those two items.

Just don't spit out a canned answer for that question.Tell them why you really want to become a Lt.I would suggest adding things like :"I feel I am ready for this next challenge in my career".Or,"I feel I have the confidence to contribute to this city in a leadership capacity".
    Most P&F commissions really enjoy hearing the words:leadership,achievement,c hallenge,and motivation.Things like that,but phrasing them in your own sentences that comes from you and not a book.

Good luck,my Lt.test is just around the corner also.
    4iron

Forum Member