Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Appartus setup

Default Appartus setup

I am a firefighter for the City of Laerence in Indianapolis, Indiana. We have come across a unique opportunity to make equipment changes on our engine. Currently we have a multi-task engine that is equipped with Hurst Tools, chain saws, tarps, fans, and other tool not required for a Class A Pumper. We are looking for ideas from departments around the country, basic setup (equipment and tools) any input would be appreciated. Please include in your response, the area (suburb, inner city, urban, airport, ect.)you're from, type of setup that you have. This information would be helpful and greatly appreciated as we adapt our engines become just that.."engines". Thanks you for your time and above all, Be Safe.

MembersZone Subscriber
    No. Providence R.I. : Land of the "How ya doins"

I AM ON A 103 MEMBER CAREER DEPT. THAT IS A SUBURB OF PROVIDENCE BUT IS URBAN ITSELF. WE HAVE JUST YOUR BASIC ENGINE STUFF ON OUR ENGINES.
    OUR TRUCK IS SET UP LIKE A RESCUE LADDER. WE HAVE ALL THE GOODIES ON THE TRUCK, HURST TOOL, ROPES, TORCH,SPECIAL TOOLS ETC. WE ARE GETTING A HEAVY RESCUE IN THE FUTURE WHICH WILL ALLEVIATE THE NEED TO OVERLOAD
    THE TRUCK CO. WHAT YOU DESCRIBE TO ME WAS A RESCUE PUMPER. THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH THAT CONCEPT. YOU DIDN'T SAY WHETHER YOU HAD ANOTHER PIECE OF APPARATUS TO PUT THIS EQUIPMENT ON THAT WILL GOES OUT STAFFED. THAT IS WHAT YOU HAVE TO LOOK AT. IF YOU NEED THE EQUIPMENT, WILL IT GET THERE? IF YOU KEEP THE EQUIPMENT ON THE ENGINE,
    ARRANGE IT SO WILL CAN BE ACCESSED EASILY. EXAMPLE: HURST TOOL, IN THE REAR COMPARTMENT SO WHEN YOU PULL UP TO SCENE YOU CAN WORK OFF THE TRUCK INSTEAD OF LUGGING IT AROUND. ARRANGE THE MOST USED EQUIPMENT; HAND TOOLS, HIGH RISE PACK, WATER CANS ETC. CLOSER TO THE