Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience

View Poll Results: Are there members of your union apart of a vol. department?

Voters
22. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

15 68.18%
  • No

6 27.27%
  • Don't know

1 4.55%
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Vol. officers?

Question Vol. officers?

Well there is a similar subject that I haven't seen much on lately. Numerous departments have union firefighters that are commanded by vol. officers that are union members from other departments.

Be careful, Webteam targets these threads and shuts them down!
    But to answer your question. Yes, Volunteer officers in my jurisdiction command career staff and vice versa. I am a a volunteer officer and I sometimes ride OIC with 2 career firefighters in the back and one driving. It all depends if I am in the station and the career officer has to leave for some reason. Also, if there are volunteers around during career hours (7a-3p) we will ride under the career Captain. It works well, no big problems here as there are in some other stations in our county. Basically it is written that during career hours, the career Captain is in charge. We have no problem with that, and our captain is very competent and works well with the volunteers.
    You Waste your time, YOUR LINE IS MINE!

This is the same post as before just worded differently. Ya gotta go and start this crap on the PAID board and not the VOLLY board, right? You must be insecure in your position as an officer.

Insecure? Not a chance. However, wherever there is a question about Volunteers in a Combo department, I will appear, I do not care if it is in the "Wildland" firefighter forum.