Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
Closed Thread

Question Any advice for a new Capt?

Hi, I have been reading posts for a while, and decided to post a question of my own.

I am 20 years old, and have been an EMT for just over 3 years now. (In PA, 16 is the limit for cert.) I currently was appointed EMS capt at my volunteer company. I know, it sounds crazy, a 20 year old as capt. But, that's the way it is in this area. Our fire cheif is only 26. So, anyway, my question is... Does anyone have any advice for me on handling the responsiblity while I am still learning myself? How do I deal with issues such as approaching the older members, who do not look at me as an authority figure?

There is also a problem in the dept with individuals who feel EMS has no place in a fire house. Does anyone have any ideas on dealing with that issue? Any advice from seasoned officers would be greatly appreciated.
    Renee

"Those who have seen the storm, come to fear the calm." ~~unknown

Default Grocery List for New Captains

You must go out and do something right now before you make another run. Go to your local drug store and pick up the following items...
    1 Bottle of over the counter pain pain releiver (for headaches) 2 Bottles of Pepto (youll really need that) and as many bottles of tums as you can afford..
    But seriously, if confronted with an issue at a scene or more commonly at the station, please always ask yourself how you would want to be treated and talked to before you say a word. Remember on difficult issues, there is nothing wrong with getting back to an individual after you have had time to research an issue. Always be honest even and fair. Always stay calm, but if you get mad, HIDE IT. You will be much more effective calm and collected than you will be upset and scattered. Good luck with your new adventure, your going to need it. Most of all, enjoy your new position.

Captain Paul Sinclair FF/Paramedic
    Louisville, Ky

Forum Member