Forum Member

Question Still Considered a Firefighter?

Here's a question that was asked of me that I'll throw out for your opinion. I was a vounteer firefighter on a fairly active combination department for 3 1/2 years. I am a certified Firefighter 1 and all the other certifications that goes along with being a firefighter. During this time I worked my way up from NREMT-Basic, Intermediate, and finally to Paramedic. Once I received my paramedic license and got a job as a paramedic, I was no longer able to fulfill my comittment to serve my community and my department. I felt I did the honorable thing and resigned January 2002 so I wouldn't be one the things that I detested the most, someone that doesn't know when to hang up their helment.

The question was asked of me do you still consider yourself a firefighter? Though I am technically a certified firefighter, I am not active at the time. I was taught the philosophy once a brother, always a brother. In my job I interact with firefighters every day, and most of them know where I came from so there is a certain amount of respect there, besides professional respect amongst paramedics. Firefighting is where I got my start, and I can never forget where I started, the people I've had the honor and privilege to work with, or the experiences we had, together. So what do you active firefighters think?
    Last edited by C2001UMedic; 05-17-2002 at 11:47 AM.
    ***The opinions and beliefs expressed above are mine and mine alone based on my education, training, and personal experiences. In no way do they reflect those of my employer(s), their affiliates, or any professional organizations that I belong to.***

MembersZone Subscriber
    Loco madidus effercio in rutilus effercio.