Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    M G
    Temporarily/No Longer Active

Default Should I Stay or Should I Go?

I am an officer of a small very non-progressive VFD. Over the last 10 years I have belonged there, I have gotten more frustrated with the climate. It is a regular occurrence for other officers to undermine me and my ideas, I cannot get them to understand my points and most of the opposition is for nothing more than to spite me. It has gotten to the point that I am tired and worn out. I used to enjoy the firehouse, going on runs when I was available and trying to make things better. I got over my save the world syndrome several years ago and started to choose my battles. I have had my duties interfered with regularly by other members and officers who want to see me fail and quit. I cared too much when I started to allow that to happen. Unfortunately the constant pressure that they exert to make my life difficult has beaten me into near submission. Walking away from the committment to the compay and my community is something I can't take lightly, because it seems like the cheap way out. The reality is that it isnt paying my bills, they sucked the love out of it for me and I am working 2 other jobs as well. This isnt a situation where I am pouting because people don't like me, its more like there are a handful of ignorant and spiteful people that have los the vision of why the fire company is there and this is what it has come to. I am not the only members that feels this way. Several others are in a similar position, being dumped on by the good old boys inner circle. These guys would rather treat the fire dept like a social club where beer free flows and firefighting comes second to everyone elses other needs. They do things for personal interest not in the interest of the fire department and community. As volunteers, it is true that our firefighting doesnt feed our families or pay the bills, but the community deserves our comm