Default new to fire world (rookie Fire_fighter)

I am new to the fire world. I have recently joined the volunteer team in the city i live in (Mexia, Tx) and I'm currently in Fire Academy. So i guess what im looking for is experienced firefighters with any advice they might have that might lead me to be my best. I will keep in touch thanks.
    the rookie

Default Welcome

Well rook all I got to say is this. Listen to your company officers. You will learn only a small portion, of what will keep you alive, in the fire academy. Live fires in the academy are not fire experince. They might be heat and smoke experience, but that is it. When that day comes, and it will, when you pull up on a job and when the bad stuff comes, then you'll truely see what fire is about. Real fires don't go away when you scrw up and there isn't a team right around the corner to bail you out if you screw up. So, like I said, stick close to the old guys, keep your mouth shut and watch & learn. I am career and when I take a new guy into his/her first fire I put them between me and the lead. Their job isn't to put the fire out, it is to learn, to see it, to feel it, to hear it. The key to a career in the fire service is to stay safe so it can be a long career. Then someday, when you've been around ten or more years, you'll be able to take a rook under your arm. Until then, like I said, learn all you can from the old guys. Capt. John King.
    celer et audax

Sr. Information Officer

Default Re: Welcome

Originally posted by FDirish
    So, like I said, stick close to the old guys, keep your mouth shut and watch & learn