Default Florida State Fire College

Anyone attended this college in Ocala, FL? I have been accepted for a class that starts in January and runs till April. Wanted to know if it is as good as it is said to be. Gear, Tuitions, and dorm and food will be roughly $3,600. The only part im worried about is the agility test that has the Forcible Entry Evolution with the 11 1/2 pound sledge, I have never done anything with a sledge hammer before.
    Save 21% the next time you pump gas!

http://www.HugeGasDiscount.GasUpUSA.c om

MembersZone Subscriber

Default 11.5 lb

Start working out rember 11.5 lbs. is not much more than a large sack of sugar-- good luck on the course I've been told that it's an excellent school

Be safe-- the dragon still bites

Sr. Information Officer

If you think the sledge hammer is heavy...Wait until you meet up with the 300 Lb. dummy.
    Proudly serving as the IACOJ Minister of Information & Propoganda!
    Be Safe! Lookouts-Awareness-Communications-Escape Routes-Safety Zones

*Gathering Crust Since 1968*
    On the web at www.section2wildfire.com

District Chief

Default Tough School

I challenged the process there and the instructors are very tough. They are very strict and dont treat you like humans in my opinion. My opinion is that they like to talk down to you...(some of them anyway). But I understand that it may change some since there is to be a new director soon. It is called the fire college, but it is just actually the state agency for delivering fire related training.

The entrance/agility test is similar to the combat challenge test I beleive. Therefore you should start doing some circuit training to prepare yourself. Do some running and do some upper body stuff. Do each piece of the agility and then put it all together.

I think the sledge is only 9 pounds and the "dummy" is 175 pounds.

I know some folks that have been through the academy there and they say it is tough. The heat is definitely a factor also.