Forum Member

Default Question about membership waiting lists

As many of you know from a previous post, I am on a waiting list for a vollie dept. nearby. I'm already working for the ambulance service that has a "working" relationship with the FD. I was informed yesterday by one of the Capts. that my application will be moved ahead of the others due to the fact that I am an active EMT and different other factors. What I am asking is if any of your depts let applicants move ahead of others due to training and experience that they already have?

code_blue81
    Jeremy Culver
    IACOJ Bureau of EMS

These views are my own and do not represent the views or opinions of anyambulance service that I am affiliated with.

Help our fellow firefighters.
    www.helpingourown.com
    "Firefighters Helping Firefighters"

MembersZone Subscriber

After jumping through the necessary hoops, a prospective firefighter for Silver City is recommended to the Board of Directors by the Fire Chief.

According to our Bylaws, "If a vacancy does not exist, the prospective firefighter's name will be placed on a list maintained by the Chief and he will be notified when an opening is available. The Board shall be empowered to skip names on the list for the good of the department."

I don't like those "for the good of" statements much. There's the potential for Good Ol' Boy Syndrome, but with good people in leadership positions, it isn't a problem.

To answer your question--yes, we could move people up the list depending on training and experience over other applicants.
    Bryan Beall
    Silver City, Oklahoma USA

MembersZone Subscriber