Angry Good ole Boy Syndrome....

Howdy Folks.
    I've been a Volunteer Firefighter for 18 mths now. I have attended every monthly meeting except the one that was scheduled Sep. 11 last year. I have kept my mouth shut for the most part up until now and watched how things are conducted by the department. I won't bore you with the details. Only that we have basically no participation by many of the membership and our training program is non-existant. This fire department is in big trouble but the folks can't see the writing on the wall.
    It is a very small north Arkansas community. I'm not from here and that in and of itself poses a problem. It seems that certain members do not attend meetings at all; they only respond to fire calls. I'm trying to figure out how a department acts as a team if the members never train or drill together. Our fire chief is unwilling to prod,coax,cajole, or threaten those who don't participate. He worries about hurt feelings and stepping on toes. He explains that "around here" people are "different" and you can't expect them to do as you would think they should. If people would rather stay at home and watch "rasslin" than attend a fire meeting then that is the way it is.
    I don't think it is fair to expect a core group to do all the dirty work (maintenance on vehicles, cleaning equipment, etc) while the rest kick back and take it easy.
    Is mandatory attendance of at least 30% to meetings, drills, call outs a reasonable expectation? Should probation be an option? Or should I relent and go with the "status quo?" Personally I have serious misgivings about working alongside people during a fire situation who aren't properly trained.
    I'm dismayed and frustrated by it all. People realize there is a problem but keep their heads "stuck in the sand." I don't see the Chief changing his ways, he's 66 and worn out.