Thread: Overweight

Default Overweight

Question:
    Volunteer firefighter suffers from obesity pushing 400lbs
    For the sake of this person should he/she be considered at risk.
    The view expressed are personal and not those of any organization or board that I may represent. I am exercising my right as a free American.

I'm no doctor but I would raise some serious questions regarding this member. But the echos my concerns about fitness training in the volunteer service. Currently we try and do stress testing on all members every 5 years plus the entry phyiscal. But I can't say we've had someone of that size in the department.

Very touchy subject though. Does this member take on active interior FF roles or primarly support roles?

If support that might not be a bad position but with the other my concerns would be high without good phyical performance.

I would like to know what comes of this if any.
    Stevejd
    www.lcvfd.com

MembersZone Subscriber

How does this individual pass his respiratory physical or healthcare questionaire? He should be flagged for a physical, we had several firefighters that were required to get stress tests before the doc would sign off

We sent him for an over 40 medical and somehow passed.
    To purchase his station uniform we had to special order 2 of each, pants and shirt. My concern if the uniforms only go up to a size 54 waist, and he takes a size 60, does that not give an indication that he may be to large. I'm sure if this person was a paid firefighter there would be concerns.
    The view expressed are personal and not those of any organization or board that I may represent. I am exercising my right as a free American.

Teetering precariously close to the edge of the earth.