Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Unhappy down the career ladder

I recently left the Army fire service for a civilian fire dept. The "problem" is, I was a Captain with the Feds. I left due to the possibility of job cuts, contracting, and the arrival of a "new" fire chief ( who is a slang term for a dog of multiple breeds). Having been a captain, plus having the required DOD training and certification for it, I went to a firefighter/paramedic position. The department I'm now on stays very busy. BUT, there's no officer training/development, very little training for the line, and I also found out I've been a paramedic longer than anyone here. Needless to say, this has started some "talking" around here. Me? I just keep my mouth shut. Yes, I want to be a Captain again. BUT, I'm also willing to put in my time before I receive that opportunity. Anyone else ever been in a situation like this? How did you deal with it? Are there any more ex-feds out there who have done something like this?

I don't really want to go back to the DOD, plus, I'm too damn old to do career hopping. Maybe with time, things will change. However, I said that to myself for the last 12 years with the base I was formerly employed. Now MY advice...someone on here once said that if the grass looks greener somewhere else, it probably gets more fertilizer. How true.

Unhappy Your not alone

I am in the same boat as you my brother, I left the DOD located in Southern California as a Truck Company Captain and all around importent guy, but due to the base closures lomming. I got hired by a civilian Department in Utah and basically had to start over as a rookie Firefighter. I really had no problems with this for the first four years or so, but now after several people whom were hired after me and other that were here prior to me but have not even close the experiance or formal training I have, have been propmoted past me, I am starting to think that I made a big mistake.