Thread: leaving the DOD

Default leaving the DOD

recently left the Army fire service for a civilian fire dept. The "problem" is, I was a Captain with the Feds. I left due to the possibility of job cuts, contracting, and the arrival of a "new" fire chief ( who is a slang term for a dog of multiple breeds). Having been a captain, plus having the required DOD training and certification for it, I went to a firefighter/paramedic position. The department I'm now on stays very busy. BUT, there's no officer training/development, very little training for the line, and I also found out I've been a paramedic longer than anyone here. Needless to say, this has started some "talking" around here. Me? I just keep my mouth shut. Yes, I want to be a Captain again. BUT, I'm also willing to put in my time before I receive that opportunity. Anyone else ever been in a situation like this? How did you deal with it? Are there any more ex-feds out there who have done something like this?

I don't really want to go back to the DOD, plus, I'm too damn old to do career hopping. Maybe with time, things will change. However, I said that to myself for the last 12 years with the base I was formerly employed. Now MY advice...someone on here once said that if the grass looks greener somewhere else, it probably gets more fertilizer. How true.

Well Cap, I'm not exactly in the same boat as you, but I just recently left DOD for a city department. I held a GS7 slot as a FF/PM and I left it to be a rookie FF in a local city. I did take a pay cut, but I feel that it was worth it. I only spent about 2 years DOD. I have heard alot of arguements from both sides as to whether going or staying was better. But I must say that I am truley happier in the city. I think in your situation, given time your experience as a Capt. and a PM will show your talent as a leader and opportunities will open up for you. Staying quiet is still probably your best bet right now. Stay safe sir and good luck!!

Default good move