Default Embarrassing Correction

For anyone who has teenage boys who think that it's cool that mom is firefighter and needs an interesting user name(rescueangel247) knows what I mean! I am single and my boys thought that this would be a great way for mom to get a life and get out of theirs. I guess I should be greatful they did not go to an online dating service. I am relativly new at KFD and am only the 3rd woman in the department. I am enjoying this new world and so are my kids.

Default Hello

Hello Jo Ann. Congratulations on joining the KFD. How do you like it? What made you decide to join?
    Good luck and take care!

I have always had a calling to serve and have been active in my church. After 9-11 and talking to a friend who is also with KFD, He suggested to go to a meeting and see if this is what I wanted. At first, I was kind of reluctant, but the more I went to meetings the more I liked it. I had wanted to be a cop when I graduated from High School, but was talked out of it by my parents. They told me I needed to stay in more traditional womens rolls(nursing, teaching, etc.). I tried to get on with Austin FD, alas my age became a factor. I enjoy what the guys allow me to do, but want to do more. In my own family I have one brother, now in the KFD family I have 30 brothers. Mannn! It's not the care and concern that gets to me but the over-protecting. They are a great bunch of guys, however the more I can get them to see me as more than a secretary the better.

Default Hi Jo Ann

How many stations does Kyle FD have? How many runs a year does you Department do? Have you caught any good jobs since you joined? I'm always curious about other Departments so I like to ask questions.
    Take care!
    Mike