Forum Member

Red face Looking to next year

As someone who has participated in many different grant processes, (Some successful, some not), I though I'd throw a couple of opinions out there for consideration.

First, let me say that in my current job, I have travelled extensively across the US. When I'm out on the road, I try to stop at any department I can, large and small. I can tell you that with almost no exception, we all share many of the same needs and problems. The only difference is that to fulfill the same need for a metropolitan department is often far more expensive than the same solution would be for a smaller one. We have ALL suffered over the years from lack of adequate funding, pitted against the skyrocketing costs of equipment. I've been a police officer, EMT, and Volunteer Firefighter for over 17 years, and time and time again, I've seen budgets cut to shreds by those who say: "those guys just sit around the station all day", "I never get sick", "that worthless cop just likes to hand out speeding tickets". Unfortunately, we are the first place they look when the budget axe falls. I have been to a few large metropolitan departments that are far less equipped for their calls, than some of the most remote and tiny departments scattered across the country. I have also seen departments so small and under-funded, that the volunteers often pay for the fuel in the trucks out of their own pockets. (see below)

That being said, I have followed many of the recent posts, and decided to put together my Christmas wish list for next year.