Default Would like your opinions on this

The fire department I run with recently went to a fairly large
    building fire as mutual aide.

The roof operations chief made a decision that I'm not sure was smart. Granted, I am not an officer, I am a firefighter, but I feel
    that his decision was unsafe. I'd like your opinions.

The chief decided to send his lightest firefighter out onto the roof tied to a rope which was secured to a ladder truck and apparently some firefighters were also holding onto it. He said he was doing this for safety reasons, I'm assuming so he would know before he sent his crew out. At least 2 crews had already vacated the roof because they knew it wasn't safe. When the tied off firefighter got a few feet and the chief realized it was unsafe he stopped roof operations.

But my question is this, most of the time, roof operations are not done with people being secured to a rope. If you have an idea that the roof is not stable, so much so that you tie a rope to a firefighter, isn't smarter to just stay off the roof?

I have received too many biased opinions and would like some unbiased ones.

Forum Member

Two crews, who were placed on the roof have already discontinued operations as they feel conditions are unsafe. Roof operations are suspended. Period. No second guessing, and no questions.

I get the impression that you were the guinea pig ladergurl?

Forum Member

Default Re: Would like your opinions on this

Originally posted by ladergurl
    The fire department I run with recently went to a fairly large
    building fire as mutual aide.

The roof operations chief made a decision that I'm not sure was smart. Granted, I am not an officer, I am a firefighter, but I feel
    that his decision was unsafe. I'd like your opinions.