Forum Member

Angry Media, whats love got to do with it

What is it about the media that troubles you so?

Do you know how to use the media effectively?

Why do you love to hate it?

I read over and over in some of the forums that you don't like or trust the media, however if it isn't written in media, you don't believe it.

Something is wrong with this picture in my humble opinion....

Forum Member

One's relationship with the media is dependent on the attitude towards them. I have a degree in public communications, serve as the Department's PIO and I do free lance writing and reporting for two local newspapers, so I have been on "both sides of the fence" whenit comes to working with the media.

You cannot treat the media like crap and expect kid glove treatment in return. By the same token, the media must treat the fire department with the same respect and professional courtesy that they expect.

If there is a problem with the media (whether it be print or electronic), it is due to a "failure to communicate". The appointment of someone to do the PIO work at an incident is invaluable. Work with the media, use them to get your message across!
    ‎"The education of a firefighter and the continued education of a firefighter is what makes "real" firefighters. Continuous skill development is the core of progressive firefighting. We learn by doing and doing it again and again, both on the training ground and the fireground."
    Lt. Ray McCormack, FDNY

Sr. Information Officer

Wink Well put Captain!

Originally posted by Captain Gonzo
    If there is a problem with the media (whether it be print or electronic), it is due to a "failure to communicate". The appointment of someone to do the PIO work at an incident is invaluable. Work with the media, use them to get your message across!