Default Hey! yup, I'm new.

Hi everyone,

Just wanted to introduce myself.

I'm a second class petty officer in the Coast Guard in Washington State.

I'm originally from Modesto, CA where my dad is a Firefighter and has been as long as I can remeber.

I'm a "paid call" fire firefighter in a podunk little town, though given my new optempo since 9/11 I'm not very active. I'm an EMT-B and since I have only very very little experience in firefighting I enjoy the medical aspect more than the smoke eating. But once I'm more comfortable and have sufficient training with the fire fighting job, I'm sure I'll enjoy it just as much.

I seperate from the CG in 2003 (for good this time!) and I plan to use my MGIB to go to a real fire academy and Paramedic school.

If anyone out there has a similar back ground, I would love to hear about your experiences in getting locked on with a good department and using the MGIB for school.

Thanks, I'm glad to be here...

Zach
    "The Problem with ignorance is that it gains confidence as it goes along" - Gen. Powell

Smile wuts up

hey wuts up Zach. I hope u have fun in here and with the info you need I can't give you, , sry, I'm a JC member. Ne ways hope you get the info you need to become a FF/EMT which ever one u want.

Have Fun Zach

Mike
    Junior Corps Motto :Always there, Always ready:

MembersZone Subscriber

What Po-dunk town R U in? I'm just east of The big City (Seattle).
    Do ya have your Washington State EMT Yet? (or are you NREMT-B)

Have you heard about Harborview Medical Center's (world renowned)Paramedic program?

Me,I have been in the biz a while and I'm Still learning all the time trying to keep up with technology and ideas. This has been a tremendous resource coming here. Make friends. Keep up with coming back to the forums. Try all different topics , you'd be surprised at what you find and get interested in.

Be safe!

JW
    Last edited by NB87JW; 09-18-2002 at 08:12 PM.
    "Making Sense with Common Sense"