Thumbs up New Firefighting Family Here.....

Hey all, Glad to finally find a firefighting forum

I guess this is where I tell ya about us...... well, I have been a Firefighter/First Responder for the last 3 years. I have just joined the Avilla Vol. Fire Dept. in Avilla Missouri 2 weeks ago after moving to Carthage Missouri from Arkansas. (I grew up in Carthage, It's my real home )
    Tried to get on at Carthage (paid Dept) BUT I can't because of the crazy age cap thing I'm 39, the age cap is 35 ) oh well, I still get to do what I love to do, Help people in need. I can understand the age cap thing, don't want a 70 yr old man fighting fires, lol. Personally I think you should be able to join at any age with a manditory retirement at age 50 or 55. I first joined and trained in Pea Ridge Arkansas , Vol. Dept., at age 36, had the same problem there. Couldn't join a paid Dept. because I was 1 year over the age cap..... anyway, I wish I would have started this long ago.

My wife (Dee) has also joined the Avilla Fire Dept. as a First Responder/EMS. I met her after I moved back to Carthage after a divorce. Before I met her, she was on the Galina Kansas EMS Dept. She is the best thing that has ever happened to me and my boys, She supports me 120% on anything I want to do, including Firefighting.

My 18 year old son also joined the Avilla Fire Dept. as a Firefighter. When we lived in Arkansas, he went on almost all runs I went on in my POV. He also was involved in alot of the mock trainings we had, He was mostly the victum. Car wrecks and such, never a live fire..... Too dangerious for a 16 yr old. He is currently looking into going to Missouri Southern in Joplin Mo. or Crowder Collage in Neosho Mo. to take Firefighter I and Firefighter II then join a paid Dept. He also wants to go to flight school in Tulsa to become a pilot. Possibly combine both the to fight fires from the air. I am very proud of him 18 and knows what he wants to do with his life, very cool!