Question Reasons You Volunteer

I am writing an article about why people volunteer in the fire/rescue/ems service, and would like to hear why you first became a volunteer-- and what keeps you motivated to continue.

Thanks.

MJWeiner

Default Wouldn't do anything else

I got motivated to join the Fire Service after growing up watching episodes of 'EMERGENCY' -- I also had family members in the Fire Service while I was growing up and that was an influance.
    Stratford Fire Company # 1
    New Jersey State Firemen's Convention Champions - 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 2000

SFDny15
    Firehouse.com Guest

I am a third generation volunteer firefighter. The main reason I do it is that I was born into it, and I have not known or loved anything else. I also enjoy helping people, although the main reason is family tradition.

I wasn't born into it. The only thing my family has used a hose or an ax was to water the garden or split fire wood. Two years ago. I decided that my grades weren't goin to get me into Virginia Tech. So there went any future in architecture or vetinarian school. I had alot of friends on the department and i could see that they loved it. I decided that i would try it, and today i plan on persuing it as a carrer.
    Burgess Wills
    Firefighter/EMT
    Windsor Vol. Fire Department
    Chuckatuck Vol. Fire Department

Forum Member
    Why? It's not like you're going to visit me! But I'm near Waco, Texas

someone has to. i am a third generation firefighter and i felt that this is the best way to continue on a noble tradition.
    NREMT-P\ Reserve Volunteer Firefighter\Reserve Police Officer
    IACOJ Attack

Experts built the Titanic, amateurs built the Ark.