Talking Architect's Role in Safe Building

To all Firefighters, Fire Officers, EMS Personel:

1st - Thank You. Thank You for your helping hands when we need it the most. Without your professionalism, we don't have a community. I wish you to have a happy and safe holiday.

I'm an architecture student currently taking a course in Life Safety in Building Design. I'm learning that the building code is actually a record of mistakes in building construction and not a design guideline for safe construction. Since I am aware that the code is very slow to change. I would like to take advantage of the network of real life fire/life rescue experiences on this forum, gather the information and share it with my classmates and professors. If you have the time, please take a moment to reply with any information regarding building construction, materials that in your opinion is a good/bad ideas in safe building construction. Or just tell us what architect can do make your job easier and/or less hazardous. We don't get much opportunity to see how buildings gets use and abused, on the other hand, you profession lets you see all the errors we don't see. I believe an exchange between architects and life/fire rescuers will make the future constructions healthier and safer.

Here's a list of open questions that can start the ball rolling..

1 - Is there a type of construction material that is prone to fire/ combustion/smoke producers? ex. vinyl, wood, pvc, etc. fatal combination?

2 - Are there any type of construction material commonly used that causes hazardous smoke making it difficult for rescue?

3 - Fire rescue are more difficult in residential/commericial buildings? buildings with elevators/fire escapes?

4 - What is a the best fire suppresion system in your opinion?

5 - What is a critical component in building design that can assist in fire rescue?

6 - Do you prefer short stairs with more landings or longer wider stairs? less turns? more turns?