MembersZone Subscriber

Question overseas recruitment

I am a Firefighter currently serving in london. I would like to move to the US and carry on my career as a firefighter. Does anyone know if I can do this if so how?

Forum Member

Default Circumstances

Are you a US Citizen? Are you serving in the military?

"Captain Bob"

www.eatstress.com

888-238-3959

"Nothing counts 'til you have the badge . . . Nothing!"

Fire "Captain Bob"

www.eatstress.com

I am also a London Fireman who would like to live and work in the USA.
    I am a British citizen and do not serve in the military.

Would my experience in the London Fire brigade be relevant in the USA?
    What would the chances of me getting a green card be if certain Departments were having trouble recruiting from American applicants?

Any info would be gratefully received.

Not sure how it is in Britain, but in the US there is no nationally accepted standard for firefighter qualifications. This is typically handled on a state by state basis. Each has it's own certifications and reciprocities. Your training would most likely be counted as experience, but unless you hold an IFSAC, NPQS or other certification, you may not be counted as qualified or certifiable.