MembersZone Subscriber

Default Breathing Apparatus safety line

I am a Fire Officer From Scotland and have designed a Firefighters safety line to assist Fire crews retrace their way out of large buildings in smoke and darkness. The design has been endorsed by fire crews and will hopefully be adopted by all of the United Kingdom Fire authorities. It is simple and easy to understand and will be a great benefit to fire crews throughout the world. More information on the design is available from www.simfireandsafety.com and I would appreciate any comments or opinions on this subject.

MembersZone Subscriber

From a firefighting point of view, there are two comments I would make -

1) Having some means of determining the direction to an exit on a main guideline is an improvement on the current guidelines that we use, as long as it doesn't impeed the movement of a snaphook on a personal guideline as it is moved along the main guideline.

2) The biggest problem with main guidelines (and probably why they are only used very reluctantly) is not with the guideline itself, but rather it is that they are very rarely deployed correctly, and hence end up entangling the very firefighters they are supposed to be helping.
    Busy polishing the stacked tips on the deckgun of I.A.C.O.J. Engine#1

...and before you ask - YES I have done a Bloody SEARCH!

MembersZone Subscriber

Default Breathing Apparatus safety lines

Thanks for your comments, firstly the standard snap hook passes over the indicator tabs with little resistence, although a lot of the United Kingdom Fire Brigades have switched to karabiner clips on their personal lines which are a big improvement.
    Fire-fighters in the UK are also reluctant to use guidelines, but if they are simpler and easier to understand, this must make them more user friendly and this point has been made by firefighters in this country who have evaluated the new design.

IACOJ BOD

Scotfire.