Thread: Chondromalacia

Default Chondromalacia

I also posted this in the health forum, thought this might work too.

Hello, I am a career firefighter who was recently diagnosed with Chondromalacia. I was in the process of trying to lateral to a different department when this all came down. I have looked it up in the NFPA firefighter medical standards and it states that any form of arthritis (evidently Chondromalacia is a form)in the extremities is a catagory b condition, which means depending on the severity of the condition, a person could be found qualified. I have also read that this condition is VERY common in people who run alot and other atheletes. My questions are these......... How many paid firefighters have this.... If you do, did you have it BEFORE you went and took your entry physical.... What have you done to help resolve it.... Anybody have any information of this condition in the fire service....

I would appreciate any responses.

Thank You Very Much,

-Viking1

Forum Member

If I remember my Sports MEdicine from college? It can be treated with ultrasound and anti-inflamatories such as Naprosyn. Like you said it is very common in people who were athletes and just occurs in soempeople naturally. It is the grinding feeling you have under your knee cap, and some people have in their elbows also.

I would say that a trip to an Orthopedic doctor would be a good choice to see whatcan be done to cure your problem.

Good luck
    GOD BLESS THOSE WHO WENT BEFORE US

MembersZone Subscriber

Default I know about this.

Viking: