Thread: response delays

Default response delays

I currently work as a full-time firefighter/EMT is Massachusetts and we have a serious response problem with our ambulance. We had over 1100 (711 EMS)emergency calls last year and when the full-time personnel are not working (M-F 8-4) 25% of our calls go unanswered and mutual aid has to be requested. Our average response time is over 12 minutes with over a 100 being over 20 minutes and 4 being over 30 minutes. Does anyone know of any standards for response times or documented cases that have been detremintal to patient outcomes due to delays? Any advice on on how to get more full-timers?

Forum Member

Let them know that brain damage starts in 4-6 minutes.....
    IACOJ Membership 2002
    {15}

Mike IAFF

The beatings will continue until the morale improves

MembersZone Subscriber

You could start doing EMS billing......it can be very financially productive.....

D

MembersZone Subscriber

I'll answer this from the standpoint of a volunteer. Sorry for reading the paid boards.

The response times that you list are intollerable. As a volunteer I took an oath to protect the citizens of my community. If a call goes unanswered, someone should get his *** chewed. The next time someone should get fired. Response times as long as that are just plain dangerous. My personal opinion is that anything over 5minutes to respond is horrible and should be dealt with by the Chief.

I am a volunteer, I run in a combo department (Kettering, OH). Last year the average ON-SCENE time was under 6 minutes for my engine and under 6.5 minutes for my ladder. That is just the Vol. responses, the paid staff (day crew) was much faster. I would love to see that number go even lower, it just takes more dedicated volunteers.