Thread: women in fire

MembersZone Subscriber

Lightbulb women in fire

I am VERY interested in becoming a firefighter and parameddic. I am a rookie when it comes to this though. what does one have to do to be a firefighter? I am already an EMT, but I am afraid that me being a woman, it will hinder my chances on being on a dept. in terms of stregth and agility. What steps do/should I take in order to maximize my potential? What kind of training should I do? what is the agility test like for those who have gone through it? Can someone help me in acheiving this goal?

MembersZone Subscriber

Hi. There are many women in the fire service today. You just have to train hard like anyone else. Most men in the fire service have no problems with female firefighters. Your EMT status will help you a lot. Don't let it expire. You should get on a good strength training program with someone who knows what they are doing. If you know any FF's ask them if they can help you or know someone that could. As far as training, get whatever you can. You could possibly go ahead and try and get in a Firefighter 1 class (if your state has Firefighter 1). Also, try to join a volunteer dept. that's nearby for experience and training. If you're to young to join, see if they have an explorers program for your age. Hope this helps!

MembersZone Subscriber

Arrow

Hey... Look at some men's fitness magazines. Strange as it sounds, there are some REALLY helpful articles in there. I had a post on "women in firefighting" forum... One reply suggested more training on upper body strength due to women's already (typically) strong legs...

Good Luck!!

Forum Member