Default Help for a new engine company officer

I am a new engine company officer in a combination department in upstate New york. I have been given the responsibility of runing the voulenteer engine company. I am in the process of redeveloping the current program for training of our engine drivers. I was wondering if anyone out there could give me any ideas on the things that would be good to add to my program. Any web sites or other ideas would be great. And allways I am a trucker but this is what i have ben given so I want to do my best with it. As allways thanks for the wise ideas BROTHERS...
    Last edited by Truck150; 02-04-2003 at 01:37 AM.

MembersZone Subscriber

I would try to stick to the State mandated references. The IFSTA and NFPA manuals are OK. You can use a DOT commercial driver's course manual (even though we don't need the CDL in NY). Whatever you do, try to keep it uniform if you use more than one reference book. There is nothing worse than getting two ways to do something and not knowing which way is better. Also give them lots of practice in different driving conditions. Also this web site has given some good info before. Responder Safety

BTW say hi to Grandpa Dave from Brian in Elmira for me. We were in the academy together.
    "What makes a person run into a building others are running out of?...Character."- Dennis Smith

www.elmirafire.org

MembersZone Subscriber

I have some information for you about drivers training, positioning and engine/truck information. It's in my desk at the firehouse but i'll get it for you asap!

MembersZone Subscriber