Default Vehicles getting out of the way

I dont know about your departments but in mine we respond code 1 to all incidents unless otherwise instructed. But wile responding code 1 wich is lights and siren some people are so ignorant they dont pull over for us. We all know how much of a diffrence minutes can be when going to diffrent calls. The other day during one of my calsses at school another student made a comment about how people pull over for emergency vehicles, and when i told him that a fair number of people dont pull over, he told me i was wrong. I told him i was a firefighter and we have lights and sirens and people dont always pull over. so i guess my question is does anyone else have this problem and how can we try to fix it?
    Always Remember:
    FireFighters Never Die,
    They Just Eat Smoke and Breath Fire!

i think everyone has this problem and nomatter how many lights or how loud the sirens are there just isint much we can do. i'm afraid that it will be this way for ever. people just dont move.
    never forget 343 FDNY
    in memory of 40 ENGINE/35 TRUCK
    normal people spend their life's avoiding intense situations.....a fireman's life is an intence situation.

Forum Member