Thread: Getting Hired

Lightbulb Getting Hired

Seems more and more people interested in fire departments need to know somebody inside the department in order to get hired. I have a question for those firefighters who are more experienced that I am and have an idea on what exactly bigger departments are interested in. I am currently involved in a smaller fire department in New Mexico but am interested in trying out for the Boston Fire Department. I have been a volunteer firefighter for around 10 years and have been involved in a paid department for almost 4 years. I am currently a Lt. at the department I am at but would like to go to a larger scale FD. What more could I do to increase my chances of getting hired? Thanks

MembersZone Subscriber

I'm not really sure how the process works in NM, but here in CO (most departments that I have seen anyway), who you know on the department has no bearing on whether you will get hired.

As long as you have your EMT, you can apply to a lot of the departments in CO, and all of the big ones. Denver and Colorado Springs are hiring right now (or at least soon).

The number one thing you can do to get yourself hired (provided you can pass the physical and written), is to work on your interview. That is the part of the process that will make or break your application. Good luck.

Eric

Forum Member

For Boston, you'll probably need to start by establishing at least a year of residency.

Forum Member

Default Veterans Taking Entry Level Tests

I often hear comments like this one where seasoned firefighters test for entry level positions for another or larger department: