Forum Member

Default SCOTT SCBA information

I would like to ask those of you who are SCOTT Overhaul level technitions, either for a FD, or a company:

is there a central place to find information on SCOTTs? I don't mean the generic stuff, I mean more like a central clearinghouse for such things as failures in other departments, repair issues, testing/repair questions.
    Let me explain a little; I am a SCOTT tech for our department(career-200members), and have been for a 3 years.. I get most if not all of the service bullutins from SCOTT, and can and do call SCOTT fairly regularly. However I still find myself looking for information that I don't have. Info like new products releases, problems other departments have that don't create a safety notice, general recordkeeping ideas/needs. For example, we just recieved our Posicheck tester. It came with the SCOTT mandated private software, and the manual that came withit is different from what the program does. the test are labled different, preformed different, and the screens are different from those shown in the manual. I called Posicheck and was told that yes they are different, and no they would not change/update the manual to show what "really" was going on. I called SCOTT, and was told that posicheck writes the manuyals, and no they wouldnot/couldnot do one. So, I have been "writting" my own manual for our department.

My question to you is this: Is there a place dedicated to the discussion/updateing/swapping of information on SCOTT SCBA's? Does anyone else fell like me that there is a need/want for such a place?
    To be quite honest, I really don't have time to come here to FH and wade through all the posts to find if there is anything I need on SCOTT's on a regular basis.

If anyone has information please let me know. I will be watching this topic for a while to see what happens, be fell free to ping me off channel at SCBAGUY@firehousemail.com

Thanks
    Scott Clearman

Forum Member

Anybody? Anybody?