Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Default Stainless Steel Option

We're looking at a new Pierce Dash pumper and would like to know if others have comments on aluminum vs stainless steel body construction?

Joe Gilbert
    2nd Dep. Chief
    Henniker, NH Fire/Rescue

Forum Member

Thumbs down

Stainless Steel is heavier, more expensive, and sounds much cooler when you write up you truck descriptions in your public relations materials, but aluminum works just fine. I've had lots of experience with Pierce rigs, from new up to 20 years old. They all have/had aluminum bodies and they've all held up just fine (with proper care & maintenance, of course).

In my personal opinion, stainless steel bodies are simply a waste of money...but they're a great marketing gimmick to an industry (the fire service) that just loves cool bells & whistles. We can thank ALF for starting this latest, rather silly, trend.

Forum Member

If you're looking at Pierce, give the Quantum a long hard look. We've had one in service a yr now and love it. The engine cover sits lower in the cab I believe. It is a tall truck thou.
    The auto fold down steps are a neat toy also. We haven't had any problems yet and we'll buy more.
    The front end design is a little different.
    Last edited by ctxffman; 02-26-2003 at 03:35 PM.

FH Mag/.com Contributor