Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    MembersZone Subscriber

Default Military Job Training Advice-good or not good

I was wondering what you think about the military and training for fire fighting jobs. I am currently a firefighter and a emt and I just started my first semester of college. I have thought about the armed forces but never gave it much decision. I thought I might turn to this forum for some help on what you guys think. Maybe some of you who are in the armed forces can give me some info and advice.

This has been addressed multiple times here on the forums. Basically the gist is this: Everybody but the Navy goes to Goodfellow AFB for fire school. There you get IFSAC certs in a few fire service disciplines: ARFF, hazmat, firefighter II. These are only good in states that recognize them. If you live or plan to move to one of these states, basically all 50 but CA,TX,FL, and maybe a few others, then it could be a good move. Find the IFSAC website to see which ones for sure do. The rub is that most places worth working are going to have to retrain you anyway, via their own academy. I went the Army route. Awesome for me. I wouldn't have made it a semester in college. It got me away from home and the people I ran with, gave me a goal, and ultimately money to go school now and the discipline to finish. But that is just me. I loved it. I had a good station, good company (fire company, not army company) people, and we trained A LOT.

If you are even remotely considering the service but are unsure, go Air Force. More opportunity for advanced training, better equipment, and you really are just a firefighter. In the other branches, you still will have other duties to take care of while off duty.
    ...if you put the handline in the right spot, you won't have to jump out the window...
    -Andy "Nozzles", SQ18, 9-11-01

MembersZone Subscriber