Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Workout Program

Question Workout Program

HI, im a jr and im not a very "big" person and i know that my diet has to be the worest one, so i have decided that im going to get bigger and healthier so when i take my physical exam for a paid dept that im in the best condition. im taking classes in school like weight training and wellness but i want to start and outside program. i used to go to the gym but then i didnt go for awhile so i stopped my membership, im going to start one again. i was just wondering what kind of programs you do to keep fit? and do you do anything at home that helps?
    -JEFF G

RES49CUE
    Raritan Twp,NJ

49-56
    "Have Jaws, Will Travel"

MembersZone Subscriber

Lightbulb

bfd5229,

I have been a personal trainer for more years than I have been a firefighter, so I feel somewhat qualified to give this little bit of advice. So here it is...As firefighters we fight fire like we train. There is no more a truer statement. With that in mind, it makes working out for firefighting easy. Just think of the statement "I will train like I'm fighting fire". Ask yourself what am I going to be aksing of my body? Then just pick exercises that mimick those movements as best as possible. For example: a stair stepping machine will help you climb stairs (put a dumbell on your shoulder to mimick equipment you might be carrying in real life), pull on a rope with weights and a pulley to mimick pulling hoses, a seated row exercise on the pulley machine will build muscles that might help you pull a victim or fellow firefighter out of danger one day.

These are just a few simple suggestions to get you thinking. Of course most any exercise will help with the job. We ask an incredilble amount from our bodies, so make it part of your career to take care of that most important tool...your body.