Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Disgusted

MembersZone Subscriber Asstchief1630's Avatar

Angry Disgusted

Would like to let all volunteer firefighters know what just happened to me........I called GIECO insurance to get a quote for my vehicle and after they found out that I am a volunteer firefighter he told me that we (geico) cannot insure your vehicle. So I asked why and he said, "Because you use your vehicle to respond to fire dept calls" I was so disgusted and sick to my stomach!!!! This is the thanks and appreciation volunteers get for putting their life on the line. Anyways, my fire dept's insurance covers the vehicle and us so I cannot figure out why they would not insure my vehicle. Just incase your thinking that maybe they used that as an excuse because of my bad driving habits - I have been driving for 14 years with no accidents or tickets (knock on wood). This is my first post I ever did and I had to do this to vent my frustration. In case you ever think of switching insurance companies do not call them~~~> Gieco Direct 1-888-421-3343.

MembersZone Subscriber

Chief;

Welcome.

Check with the NYS Ins. Dept. to see if they are permittedt o redline you like that. Why did they even ask you? I've been buying car ins. for 25 years and the subject never came up.

In NJ, an ins. co. is not allowed to charge an accident against your record if it occurred during a volunteer response and did not involve negligence.

If this is true, I smell boycot.

George,

The insurance agent asked me a bunch of normal questions then he asked if my vehicle had any modifications or non-factory items so I said that I had a lightbar on my vehicle. That is how he found out about me being a volunteer fireman.